Skip to main content

tv   Abatement Appeals Building Inspection Commission 42016  SFGTV  April 29, 2016 3:00am-6:01am PDT

3:00 am
housing in this town so that we can all continue to live in a town whereas, you do said your industry can sell market rate housing that people want to live in i understand that you have to sell market rate housing to have affordable units i get it i do real estate for a living but i'll say one agreement that mr. tillman said the exception to the universities policy it not through the chair respectfully to my colleagues supervisor wiener the subject of a backroom deal but the subject and the result of a massive amount of change and displacement act and stories that are heart wrenching stories that emanate out of a wonderful community called mission district in san francisco and that is why the nct is
3:01 am
treated definitely in this legislation but if this supervisor is going to be consistent about uniformity i believe and i will motion at some level of political bravery to treat the nct in the same way mr. tillman we're treating every other zoning district in this district be that the mucus or the eastern neighborhoods are be it as everything effected at prop c and make that motion and i also acknowledge this board - my come along to preserve the housing fabric but relative to the fundamental argument that that is been the subject of
3:02 am
unfortunate and unfounded allegations there is only one portion of that which is the fact that the nct and the mission is treated differently for public policy purpose and for the sake of this decision i hereby by move colleagues public comment is over we treat the in depth in the exact same way through the hearing projects are e e and a prior to 2014 a one percent bump and brokerages e e a at one and a half and projects between january 1st, 2015, and january of 2016 a 2 1/2 percent bum the one and only motion i'll make and the only motion i'll support other than technical changes you'll hear about. >> thank you. any discussion we'll take the morning motion
3:03 am
now. >> supervisor wiener. >> in terms of the one hundred and 20 feet that was raised a question about why it is exempted from the grandfathering or gained parenting and they've recommend remove the distinction between under one hundred 20 and above i guess through the chair to the authors in terms of the possibility of removing that exemption from the grandfathering as well i'm soliciting feedback. >> supervisor kim. >> naermdz to be unarmed to that above one 20 not one
3:04 am
hundred 20 and above i'll ask the committee to make in regards to the height a general agreement when we were building take our you can build take our this is the negotiation as a result of your market-rate developers that's the number that was previous elder. >> that's a lot of the political and financial history 2, 3, 4 it this chamber and building historically it was spur and i don't know from the hawk existed in those days that actively not wanted to differentiate between building one 20 and above and blow because precisely that was the breaking point at which the economies of scale become such
3:05 am
above one hundred and 20 for that type of construction much more money to be made we adopted the one hundred 20 that is historically been the cutting line as a matter of fact i remember in the old days i've got mr. broadway show you u shaw here the residential builders said they're cutting downtown developers a special deal and one hundred 20 has been the dpiftd line in the chamber. >> we have a motion that is open on the floor and supervisor peskin has made a motion any discussion if not i'm ready to take a vote. >> john gibner, deputy city attorney just to clarify what if that motion is i belive supervisor peskin is proposing to delete subsection 415 e-1 e
3:06 am
it starts on page 23 and ends so that deletes the exception for the nct and treats the mission nct like other other projects subject to the grand parenting but totally different from the umu only on grandfather and that's correct. >> all right. thank you for the clarification let's hear a roll call vote on supervisor peskin amendment. >> supervisor peskin amendment supervisor peskin supervisor wiener and chair cohen. >> thank you all right. amendment passes unanimously supervisor kim i think you have an amendment to discuss you wanted to propose or if you
3:07 am
could restate it. >> an amendment suggested bets the mayor's office of housing and community development around the small sit acquisition how you can sell our onsite obligation i believe the city attorney will read into the record. >> we don't have it in front of us not written down. >> please into the mike and deputy city attorney kate stacy and in section 4415 ms. hayward upgraded an amendment i'm suggesting clarifying language that language is not before you in written form. >> is there a substantive change. >> a change that makes that consistent with the small sites something that the see macy's put before the planning commission.
3:08 am
>> is a reap not written before us or a fly-by your pants clarification. >> i can't answer that madam chair the language that moovd read into the record i'm suggesting some alternative language. >> i appreciate that i'll let you know i'd like time to review the lunge and chew on that you may read what you have and then we'll continue. >> so this the the last sentence of section 415 point it at a new in essence sentence defined in the subsection f and the small sites program my use the affordable housing fees to acquire sites and buildings consistent with the perimeters of small site funds as periodically updated. >> all right. thank you any discussion on this.
3:09 am
>> family through the chair relative to that - can't meet more than 200 and 50 - does that language survive or not survive. >> sophie hayward from the mayor's office of housing and community development i didn't suggest touching that of the grandfathering. >> all right. so i want to say a couple of comments before we go on from local 22 and everyone that came out and who gives a damn about this critical issue thank you for thank you for your time i believe we need to increase the
3:10 am
inclusionary housing and building we should be sensitive vision zero the developers to put affordable units onsite onsite rather than in lui fees i'm concerned this ordinance and the process that state as under gone has turned into a mess i am not how many of you followed that grandfathering 3 tiering and 33 percent come on let's keep it real what is before us is extremely complex to complex and move forward it is that complex system of affordable housing fees arrest grandfathering or now grandmothering this ordinance is a result of negotiations i don't want to take away from anyone any work to move forward but i many have not been a party to the discussion
3:11 am
i certainly have not in the revised owners that was introduced last week and not available for public review you've heard comments yet we're asked to make key provisions in the pipeline that have been entitled and mainstreams we're dealing with as well that language has not been written or circulated by our - that is customary ambassador an important piece of legislation we also need to be doing >> due diligence in thinking about this in a significant way to make significant changes to the housing policy in the past are whether it be - whether we're making housing policies we're talking about short-term rentals where whether we are talking about condominium conversion maybe you were there for that conversation and several opportunities informing
3:12 am
for pickup input in the discussion this is an important conversation we're having today but were i i don't feel comfortable with returning it so the changes we make today maybe the difference between housing projects moving forward and maybe the difference between the city succeeding and winning a challenge so i understand the urge to get something done and adopted before the primary june 7th election we can't do it without having a transparent process so frankly, i think that all of us will benefit waits presented my preference to continue the female item for another week so the public can review and all of us review the project ♪ collection policy and the last minute changes today i want to comment but i'm going
3:13 am
to be introducing two amendments on behalf of supervisor farrell and i'm going to read them i've circulated the read into the record to delete the section 4 and substitute in lui and remember the provisions informing thereafter, and read into the record subdivisions d any residential or prominently residential mixed use that has submitted a place after january before or on june 16th that replaces a non-conforming use on f a - excuse me - shall provide affordable units in the amount of 21st century .5 percent of number of units onsite and the other developments that is an application after january 12,
3:14 am
2016, has the requirements sfoergd or one 5.4 or plus as applicable the second amendment is distributed i want to make sure the existing trailing legislation that provided that protects legally biden coast that the city has entered into therefore i'll read more language number 4 subsection on page 27 line 14 any housing development project that comes on or before june 7th has entered into an executed entertainment a agreement between the city demonstrating it the affordable units are not subject to the costa-hawkins rental act now i'm sure you'll see the
3:15 am
beatings debate we'll deal with those amendments and get out of here so we can get on with the rest of the day is p there first a motion on the amendment that deputy city attorney kate stacy read into the record this is the language they had supervisor kim had proposed >> so moved as restated by deputy city attorney kate stacy thank you if it dab amount we'll take that without objection. that item passes another motion to i made to accept the two amendments i read into the record is there a motion to temple that. >> madam chair i'd like to ask questions specifically around the second amendment that says that it demonstrates that the affordable units are not subject
3:16 am
to the costa-hawkins rental action what do you mean. >> i think we want to encourage the production of housing and not parking lots and office buildings. >> costa-hawkins i believe an act that deals with rent control in san francisco. >> outlook supervisor wiener and mines is that as we know i forgot how long 6 to 8 years the superior court ruled that the rental city's couldn't force the project to include the below-market-rate housing according to the costa-hawkins there are unsuccessful efforts in the legislator to overrule that and not know what they'll do that right now when rental units come online they have a costa-hawkins waiver stating a percentage they will agree to so from the project has made that
3:17 am
statement and entered into that binding agreement that will be honored. >> thank you for that clarification if i may madam chair every member of this board voted on a resolution authored by supervisor yee that said that we would use our best efforts to have that matter heard by the full board by april the 19 which day is tomorrow i fully expelled this matter would be forwarded from this committee as a committee report as a shoe of combooth by this body and this supervisor and the chief sponsor to the folks from the local 22 to the folks from the building industry to the folks in the mayor's office so i was somewhat disappointed this not appearing on this agenda as a committee report i was somewhat disappointed it is not on tomorrow's board of supervisors agenda because this was the pledge that all 11 of us
3:18 am
took i'm reticent to delay this process we gave our word to the church branch and to the market-rate development industry and the building construction groups we will have an amount of disability e stability and predictability i'm hearing the politics of the way in addition to that despite the statements yet to be answers any other colleague from district 8 an amendment that is not a uniform amendment that is constructed to deal with one individual developer who introduced his their environmental applications but a few weeks ago we heard testimony today about other politics that deeply are concerning and troubling so i for one will vote
3:19 am
against the amendment made by chair cohen on behalf of supervisor farrell. >> thank you very much supervisor kim is that your name on the cue i see. >> i have two more clean up amendments to ask the committee to. >> okay. we'll take that in a second let's deal with those. >> in regards to the amendments from supervisor farrell to chair cohen i do not support those amendments again, we have spent months negotiating in good faith with the mayor's office and our developer community and the proposal before us is really the product of that work i'm committed to getting this to the board as quickly as possible and was actually, the entire board condemned the process by april 19th tomorrow i don't support the continuous this need
3:20 am
to move out and in fact, plenty of progress to evaluate this legislation. >> all right. so it is interesting the discussion around good faith i wanted the public to not be fooled by the eloquent statements you've heard and just want to recognize that supervisor peskin and supervisor kim introduced an unsigned ordinance that made this meeting april 19th that is visually impossible i'd like to take a roll call vote on the amendments so madam clerk and supervisor peskin. >> wait on which amendments. >> on the amendments i read into the record you said you were voting no. >> there was one amendment relative to the farrell and the other to continue i'll a take them separately and b let supervisor kim speak to other clean up amendments she times to make brown-bag we take the
3:21 am
amendment to continue as to the farrell amendment that the amendment before this. >> madam clerk call the vote for the farrell and supervisor peskin. >> no supervisor wiener supervisor cowen two i's one no. >> thank you supervisor wiener did you have something to say all right. the second amendment will be voted on excuse me - the second month motion that is open a continuous for one week. >> madam chair there are other clean up amendments that supervisor kim worries about 0 over that are supported by the planning department and the mayor's office. >> okay one amendments sorry i was looking at the amendment.
3:22 am
>> right it's not written. >> my apologies one area that ordinance is actually silence on the intention of the interiors for any project prior to january 1st, 2013, the project maintains it's inclusionary requirements under the understanding that for projects that came in 2013 one percent and 2012 and two one half butches but the projects that submitted and epa - that was the original intelligence our measure was silence on articulating that point we wanted to clarify that so it is clear for projects that were
3:23 am
uncertain how their projects were 2r5e9d before january 2013 that's at language on that piece the second amendment is also clarifying the amendments in regards to the area there is an additional affordable housing impact fee on top of we require in those cases the he'd fee can be used for fulfilling your bumped inclusionary housing depending on the year you submitted our e pa. >> okay. well amendments have been read into the record. >> i move those amendments. >> okay supervisor wiener. >> i'm i think i need clarification on those items and director rahaim looks at puzzle. >> that last points that is the first i've heard of the amendment
3:24 am
my take that is probably related to the affordable housing fee with the high-rise of the market octavia plan this is a fee on top of the normal inclusionary requirements i'm not sure i thinks by the way, that's what i see. >> as you see she's unavailable this is part of the reason we'll continue this we need more time to chew on that supervisor wiener. >> can i get a restatement on the amendments that was a little bit confusing that supervisor kim couldn't through the chair that i can ask supervisor kim to restate the amendments. >> the first amendment was exactly as i articulated any project before january 1st, the project will maintain the
3:25 am
inclusionary requirements and the second amendment for any housing development located in an area with specific housing requirement for special use district or any other section of the code like section 419 with expectation of the zoning district or the south of market family zoning the higher of the affordable housing requirements and so forth in the special use district or in section 415 plus fees apply any one pursuant to the special use district symshall be part calculation for the sections 415 point one so any amendments was a summary if there an, an additional impact fee requires by the special use district or plan that will account towards this bump up there the grandfathering. >> please. so the amendment will allow the
3:26 am
additional fee towards the suds for the proposal in the ordinance. >> yes. >> thank you. >> i'll move those amendments. >> all right. we'll take that without objection. those amendments pass amazing all right. the final motion to continue this for one week. >> madam chair we have to deal with the sunset provisions looks like the city attorney is jumping up you're right. >> john gibner, deputy city attorney i actually had a question on one of your previous votes you voted 2 to one to adopt what you're calling the farrell amendments and discussed two different potential amendments and intend to closing include above them we want to capture everything. >> that's correct two farrell amendments we took a vote and supervisor peskin was against the committee is in favor of.
3:27 am
>> i do want to do backroom deals in a public. >> my second clarifying question supervisor kim's first proposed amendment which that anyone that submitting environmental applications prior to january 1st, 2013, is grandfathered entirely subject to the current requirements for both onsite and offsite and a fee; is that correct okay. thank you. >> madam clerk what motion. >> one other thing kicking around section 5.29 sunset. >> who is raising that. >> this is an e-mail from our clerk to us. >> the advisory committee. >> i'm sorry. >> the advisory committee i
3:28 am
believe the office has decided supervisor kim not to move forward with that one the advisory committee no motion on 5.29 dash 7. >> that's right all right. >> so refresh my memory. >> continue for one week. >> let's do that. >> supervisor peskin no supervisor wiener supervisor cowen 2 i's. >> thank you all right. >> thank you additional business to come before this body? >> there's no further business. >> this meeting is adjourned
3:29 am
commissioner lee commissioner mccarthy commissioner walker and commissioner clinch is excused we have quorum and the next item is item b. >> okay. >> on to item c progress report
3:30 am
complaint number putnam street and staff will give an update for timeframe of correction for the violations of the violation of the property owner with the violation discussed at 2016 ab hearing. >> good afternoon rosemary chief builder inspector per the boards instruction on friday 0 april 8 the department of representatives along with the city attorney's office the mayor's office of housing and the department of aging & adult services was represented and met with ms. harris regarding the conditions at the property we had a good discussion the mayor's office of housing may have products that are helpful to go towards making repairs at
3:31 am
putnam street, however, before their contractors can gone and do on ascertainment but the volume of material within the structure ms. harris indicated she is has a rat infection the best way to communicate is in writing we choroid whether or not she has funds for the cleaning up necessary so the mayor's office of housing can do the assessment that he indicated they shiite have about 5 thousand dollars to contribute so dbi based on the directions indicated we will then call other agencies nonprofit to what is available to assist her to subsequent to that meeting he got on the folk and call the mental health association of san
3:32 am
francisco and talked with the pier group they didn't have apps to help with the cleaning so i ultimately called the building together and talked with executive directors a few days they've got a record and noticed that they couldn't do an interior work at this time since the last time 2011 because the inside was hazardous the good news they can help her and deal with a third party they work with a certified group to deal with bio hazard we may have present based on our discussions with the property owner so with respect to if they've asked for that and that particular company is called
3:33 am
ideal restoration they want to fill out the application we'll have that in the next few days no additional work is done she indicated the water is off for leakage and you saw some of the pictures that are in your package and the nature of the materials that are there she did indicate to us ms. halves she'll be willing to part with the materials as long as her books can be 15i67b8d to can regress e degree it can be done he wanted wanted to be present did executive director put together and nufldz her to be involved in the process we need
3:34 am
her cooperation so the city attorney is also there and we did also instruct her that you know we need here assistance she's in control and her son told us through the city attorney she is controlling her proposed he didn't have control over the property with respect to that she needs to employ someone to help with the rat television station she's indicated she has some money she said her annual income is less than $20,000 a year but that if we can get the cleaning done perhaps the loans from the mayor's office will go
3:35 am
towards the repairs she's been safety for the repairs so use that money towards cleaning and get the loan to help to make the repairs so we spent a good time she then does not avail herself of that situation she asked for this before they indicated four others incidents in 2000s they came in and did something in 2011 they saw the insides and couldn't procedure this photo shows we need a party to do the proper protective equipment so that's all we have right now. >> yes. >> thank you so much rosemary
3:36 am
for this we all sort of have a similar feel of needing to help in those situations i'm hopeful that you can use this experience to help us i know we have a a couple of oats kinds active at least a couple that deal with similar issues as we move forward with the code enforcement this is one of the areas we earmarked we need to find fund to be able to help putting forward the partners that you using 0 now and reporting back not only on that case but in general the process and how we can help support that that would be helpful whatever we can do as a commission i'm sure that we agree i mean, i don't want to - >> thank you, commissioner
3:37 am
with that the first one i'm saying the whole notion of not having the fund to go in we explained to her we had two people from the mayor's office of housing tonya and her staff were helpful they explained one of the loans she maybe goiblg wouldn't have to be paid back until title transfer not using her monthly funds to live on that's good news but the sense of being able to do the cleaning and deal with the materials with the assessment is a thing that is repeated so the outlet part of this not able to connect the dph they were part of the task force inspection the city attorney performed i'll be going back and talking with the city
3:38 am
attorney that's probably where that funding needs to sit not necessarily dbi but the funds need to be there you know to be able to deal with the situations this is the not the only with only out there we have those conscionable living conditions. >> commissioner. >> in our litigation committee there was someone from the health department that is working on some instances. >> is that karen and . >> yeah, yeah the lead to. >> she's on industrial ohio gift this was going to be. >> thank you, rose mary for love you. >> any public comment on that item?
3:39 am
okay general public comment is there any general public comment on the abatement appeals board agenda sienna motion to adjourn move to adjourn. >> second. >> second. >> all commissioners in favor. >> we're not adjourned 9:20 a.m. elsewhere reconvene as the building inspection at read everyone good morning today is thursday, march 17, 2016, this is the regular meeting of the building inspection i'd like to remind everyone to turn off electronic devices
3:40 am
commissioner president mccarthy vice president commissioner melgar commissioner gilman commissioner konstin commissioner lee commissioner walker and commissioner clinch is excused we have quorum next is president's announcements. >> good morning and welcome everyone to the wednesday, april 20, 2016, meeting as an extensive president's announcements i apologize up front if i get names wrong correct me and my pronunciations but good morning and well, welcome to the bic inspection congratulations to mr. huey and others that participated in the one and 10 anniversary event in the remembrance of 1906 san francisco earthquake and fire directing your attention give remarks to the willie wu wong
3:41 am
playground in chinatown and the safety training program those programs are funded by the dbi grants and provide for people to prepare for the next major earthquake dbi sorrow starting similar planning programs in the bayview, western edition and later this year we may expend do the sunset and richmond neighborhood the goal to make residents ready to respond to both their own families and the immediate neighbors to be able to manage their own without frnd e.r. the 72 hours following the big one in addition the training program director huey assist and had tom activate the dbi department proclamations center on monday
3:42 am
and conduct muck drills for the next earthquake the experience helped to refresh emergency responses and kudos to the training at the members for the city first responders following the earthquake especially in japan and ecuador that struck many, many people lost their lives as to the round-off the earthquake monday dbi staff appropriated booth information to a wide range of customers with the fair and organized we the mayor's office of earthquake safety and held at the built grand auditorium thousands eve people turned out to get the information how to be ready and the milestone of anniversaries our commissioners commission joined the city and the fire department one and 50 anniversary was observed on
3:43 am
monday april 18th with efforts in union square congratulations to everyone that serves our city in the fire department dbi was singled out by tenderloin development corporation for outstanding records phenomenon the renovation in the protecting building for residents that joined the specialized event two weeks ago the dbi celebrates joe duffy and e republican and pacific and others and kudos to all the staffs efforts dbi had an excellent e excellent month and a lot of letters we want to recognize those people kari and joe duffy of the department of building inspection dan she thought plumbing received a letter of
3:44 am
verifications that plumbing work was complete and the property passed inspection dennis of the housing inspection helpful for the communicating with the residents and the landlord at a property that resulted in a secure door installed so the building was happy a big deal for people that live there benny was k3450789 by conducting field inspectors on a construction being completed and satisfied with the the owner and tenant moving forward in quickly and finally we have as we do in our quarters the final announcement congratulations to benefiting i didn't who is there looking dapper and dressed for the occasion i thought he was going to a wedding when i saw
3:45 am
him nominated for deputy director employee quarter of 2016 and to the employee recognize committee met last week on inspector kern responding to the two 46 situation for a single-family home was sliding down a sleeping slope on the backside of mount davidson per the nomination bernie worked and make certain neighbors aware of the situation and giving clear direction on to protect the property this is an excellent clearly an excellent example of dbi professionalism so inspection please step forward and get your congratulations for the service. >> commissioner lee will do
3:46 am
the announcement thank you bernie. >> thank you very much a honor and privilege to serve the people of san francisco. >> thank you. i want to let you know bernie was one of the finest people you still are yeah. yeah. >> thanks bernie thanks for all your service and don't get that suit dirty that's correct bernie madam secretary that that concluded my report. >> one minor correction michael convincingly. >> i get the beginningly wrong
3:47 am
what can i say michelle oh, sorry michael thank you any public comment on the poufrments item 3 general public comment the bic will take public comment on the jurisdiction not part of this agenda. >> seeing none, item 4 discussion and possible action regarding the proposed board of supervisors file as amended amending the building code for notice of violations or the filing of an application to legalize an unauthorized unit the planning commission approved that for a imminent hazards on the property. >> good afternoon, commissioners jeff from supervisor wiener's office this legislation was authored and supervisor avalos and have
3:48 am
considered in january by the land use & economic development committee at the file the legislation to the board the legislation to the board one amendment made by supervisor wiener was required and referred to the bic this simple amendment to provide property owner 3 years instead of one to correction nov for unauthorized unit and life-saving to bring the unauthorized unit into compliance for financial headstart that is straightforward we will be honored to have your support. >> any questions questions. >> commissioner walker. >> thank you for bringing this forward our code advisory committee reviewed this yeah
3:49 am
advisory and. >> no, it was part of initial one they split it maybe i have that on record. >> the commission actually supported this ordinance the ordinance took effect on april 11th that was a trailing praise e piece because supervisor wiener offered it at land use and the city attorney said it has to be routed through didn't make sense to reroute it we're giving owners 3 years instead of one year i think everyone was in support of that's why. >> it's not perfect. >> not for life and safety. >> right. >> yeah. >> great. >> okay. >> all right. is there any more questions thank you for bringing that back and congratulations in getting that through so we need to take action.
3:50 am
>> yes. any public comment on the item seeing none, yes there be a roll call vote. >> i move we approve that. >> second. >> call the question. >> so there is a motion and a second commissioner president mccarthy commissioner melgar commissioner gilman commissioner konstin commissioner lee commissioner walker that item passes unanimously item number 5 discussion and possible action regarding a proposed owners board of supervisors file number 14185 at amending the electrical plumbing and health care to clarify and standard device violations for the municipal code related to buildings and properties that requires the department to - for
3:51 am
the record for the standards citywide model for code enforcement setting a date of 2016. >> bill strong both items five and six are represent shuns of ordinances you've heard and passed this particular ordinance supervisor wiener ordinance to standard device the code enforcement process you approved and, in fact, the expectation it passes the board on an unanimous vote the second time this pass week the expectation the mayor's is going to sign this this week it will take effect the last week of may and beginning of june i believe the supervisors original intent that is equally true of item 6 which deals with the better roof that is a
3:52 am
requirement by supervisor wiener to have 15 percent of rooftops not only solar ready but san andreas fault solar as a way of helping with long term clean energy for buildings in both those cases you already acted i don't know if you want to revote on them again, nothing has changed except to have a legal effect. >> yeah. if 2, 3, 4 questions no objection we'll approve it. >> thank you thank you just for the record this included item five and six this was the supervisors file any public comment on item 5 and 6 seeing none, item 7. >> we move to approve.
3:53 am
>> are we're going to vote. >> i asked if no objection we'll take - do we have to vote. >> don't have to. >> no objection. >> passes all right. item 7 update on meeting of building inspection and planning commission offers >> commissioner melgar so appreciate our input to make sure i get this right we met with the planning commission and i think first of all, we could have sent with them they meets thursday and any agendas items to discuss in advance i think no problem getting a half hour with them going forward this is important we have that assess so that was absolutely no problem
3:54 am
there and so we did talk about the couple of items obviously the one of the items the main items of the discussion was in regards to legislation coming down the pipeline to the board of supervisors that goes to them and has a direct impact i think we all agreed in the spirit of a lot of the legislation we go conclude they're okay, however, the unintended consequences with the tools at the dbi level we seem to struggle with a lot of time and we - the discussion was in the manner of how do we in advance tell them of our concerns before we vote on the legislation that that be at dbi but staff hours or how do we
3:55 am
commit the policies and so and so, i think thai totally understood they agreed they do sometimes vote and not understand how some of the legislations will be implemented particularly at the dbi level one of the maintains i don't know how we'll do this to bill go or whoever will be that as also legislations comes do them we'd like to get ahead and make bullet points to the concerns attached to they are overall decision and i don't think any objection to that; right? welcomed it and even to the point bill maybe we might in particular some of the pieces of legislation we'll have strong positions we'll send someone from our staff to make the points or talk about those points they'll vote on it and
3:56 am
make the amendments or point out certain things that will kind of be on the record and rather than those reacting when we get it i think that was constructive we can do i don't want to say damage control but active work thank you commissioner melgar did you want to add no now the big one they did in regards to having a meeting as a joint meeting was necessarily kind of saying i guess what action we can take is our biggest concern they said, however, for the celibacy to implement we will will get together and see how things are playing out, i guess
3:57 am
anymore that is there no about thirty or 40 minutes we would probably have a joint meeting when it is launched so the question if they had it before and after it is launched so commissioner >> one of your concern is around the fact of conversion of sros to group housing was there any specific contestants about that topic we'd like to definitely want our infraction before they vote. >> we didn't talk specifically about that one no we should have we didn't actually didn't talk about that. >> we were talking more jean legislationly you know please commissioner melgar. >> i think that was more about
3:58 am
the process in general although i remember that was one example we used and what they said they wanted staff at the meeting dbi staff at the meeting at the planning meeting when the decisions are made that effected both departments they could get you know on the record and their decision their prospective i think that that would be up to director huey means watching - and seeing what will effect us and having someone there to inform the conversation. >> commissioner walker >> thank you for meeting with them i think that one of the issues that comes up a lot is just when our departments need to work together sometimes, it
3:59 am
is not very - sometimes that is clumsy whether in advance of a project and plan checked and things get approved and alternated and come back or code enforcement oftentimes we're the people out doing the inspecting and have to enforce their codes or refer it back so there are issues on both sides that process takes very long and it also is cumbersome if something happens at our department it triggers an issue can be there for years we have a list full of cases that we actually have asked for resolution we're waiting for planning so, i mean i think that
4:00 am
all of these things whether it is advanced coordination or coordination better of our department in the process those - that's what we need to deal with how do we staff those areas where we partner closer and we should coloring be partnering closer and i'm fine with a vehicle with the primarily system to use as sort of the structure of that discussion because i think better cooperation rests on that i'm fine with waiting but i do think we should have meetings jointly with planning commission about that and then we can highlight those other things when the legislation comes to be pro-active in working together to make sure we don't take too
4:01 am
long. >> okay. >> dually not and good morning board of commissioners first of all, we have a system to you know communicate with planning even you know each other or e-mail each other for example, we you know they want to suspend and do all those besides that we have the advisory meeting every other month and working to have the planning department staff to iron out the issues and last meeting we had fought goes to them they are talking about the small job with our plan checker to the whole route to e routine to speed up the process we have
4:02 am
working closely with the insider you know planner he's very helpful for doing the small projects yeah any suggestion to streamline the process we will be working closely with all the planning department staff and any suggestions you know try to you know make it right and do it faster. >> great. >> okay. so we'll - >> so i - when we get this celler launched than all the issues you bring up how we work together closer and the projects that seem to be forever hanging out that and dbi can do because planning can make the decisions that will be interesting. >> yeah. yeah. >> exactly.
4:03 am
>> thank you very much. >> okay any further commissioner comments any public comment on this item? ash item 8 discussion and possible action to look at changes in chapter four 1 of the administrative code the hotel conversion ordinance. >> so is they're going to be public comment on this first before we get into it or - >> if you want. >> why not explain what it is. >> so basically i mean, the last commission meeting we discussed trying to get more educated how this process is i know we got a good you know presentation from staff there on the last commission meeting he certainly my eyes were opened up to the process i think there
4:04 am
is a lot of mechanisms in place that has the process i thought and what was brought up should we because an important item to the subcommittee to kind of keep us posted and brought up to speed as this gloss the process i don't know if so it necessary i'm tooling off a little bit since the provocation the last time but - if staff thinks that's a good idea rosemary i'm not sure if you need it. >> mr. president, and members as yesterday there was a press release by the supervisor peskin i don't know if all the
4:05 am
commission members are aware he's expressed a desire for more turn until an update to chapter four 1 of administrative code with respect to enforcement and of the provisions regarding the permits to convert i have done an analysis for that office open this and find they did provisions economic provisions for the purpose to convert to an replacement have been in place since 1992 the code enforcement tools are somewhat outdated that unfortunately lead in instances of misrepresentation and really are not good enough tools to be able to address the market as it currently is and while the numbers are holding at 19 to tell us a dpishlt about 78
4:06 am
thousand since 1981 so with that, this is something that i very definitely think needs to happen it is for the refreshed in such a long time and equipped with the original mandate to preserve the rooms for the elderly the press release indicates that supervisor peskin office is going to reach out to the stakeholders i communicated to that office and had a lengthy discussion by those interested and they're aware of that. >> so commissioner gilman. >> yeah. i think that well commissioner peskin might not beat us to the chase with the press conference and the economic provisions in particular are outdated we're seeing i'm aware of folks making
4:07 am
new applications for residential groups that don't want to zone that as zoning want the flexibility the dwelling use we need to declare with the folks when developing the properties of hotels where people will live i think that is cloudy as a commissioner i'll be willing to participate in a sub group representing the supervisors office that is somewhat of a crisis in chinatown in san francisco and i think we need to address this as people are pushed out the sros it further creates pressure on the market - that's why we're seeing the encampments and the crisis around homelessness. >> i'm struggling wherewith the subcommittees goal that could be done on let's see we would ask
4:08 am
to be updated on a particular timeframe would that suffice versus forming a subcommittee i'm kind of trying to be to your point i think there is mechanisms in place we're talking about updating the mechanisms. >> i think with all due respect we should be participating in chapter four 1 with the board of supervisors this is one of the key things that the dbi and our foundations that we've been known for throughout the sro collaborative's and others we should be present whether formally requesting supervisor peskin office that the commission mrarpt if allowed we do need a subcommittee we need
4:09 am
to be more active pro-active role instead of reacting commissioner melgar and commissioner walker. >> actually gale made my point for one of us be or more i'm interested involved in that process proactively i don't know we need to create a whole others segment we'll end up doing a lot of work but i agree. >> just to the city attorney could myself and commissioner melgar participate with the supervisor on him looking at chapter four 1 and drafting legislation. >> john from the city attorney's office let me present some options you understand what is available if you do go ahead and form a subcommittee today or in the future it would be a public body
4:10 am
every meeting will be pubically noticed you could not have any more than 3 people serve like all the other subcommittees not more than that because that will otherwise be a quorum of up to the full inspection so 3 members a public body sonya or have someone from dbi staff that acts as the subcommittee secretary you'll have to put out agendas and public records and brown act thatort of things and probably you'll select a want and a vice president just with all the others another option to identify certain members of the commission could be no more than 3 again that would participate
4:11 am
in meetings with supervisors or other entities but you'll be representatives the building inspection but couldn't be a single voice a full building inspection needs vote on giving you direction like let's see you're participating in the group and who conflicting ideas that merge you may feel that one is great but couldn't say the building inspection supports policy a or the opposite policy b unless you come back with an agenda item and report to the building inspection and from the building inspection votes to take a position you could bring that back. >> commissioner walker wants to make a point. >> i actually think either of
4:12 am
those will work i don't know. i think that the benefit of having the department and the commission involved at the onset is to deal with the technical issues up front instead of having to put them into something it is more effective we also have been the department that does a lot of the regulatory issues around the sros and have in the past i think that is a direction offshoot i think that, however, it happens should be public put together by someone from planning or here or the supervisors office the goal to do it the right way and make sure we don't continue to lose valuable inventory of housing and actually do something to create more towards what that
4:13 am
type of housing is entry-level housing bringing people from homelessness into homes homeland and housed so - as a subcommittee direct the confusion and people participate as with the other ones add added more staff time i mean, we're not excluding people making sure the meetings happen and ends up advising the supervisors. >> commissioner. >> my only concern commissioner walker we're making an opportunity to have a timeline for the proprietors in drafting the legislation i feel like they work definitely forming a subcommittee we could meet for months while this opportunity sails by us and commissioner walker talked about that which is good it is
4:14 am
wonderful but i'm thinking 9 latter option of the commissioners directed from the letters to have staff that point to be part of all the meetings might be a faster solution so we don't losses this moment in time and have the legislation before us. >> maybe we can ask the supervisor how he'll like to proceed if they don't want to cooperate we'll do a quorum you know sometimes there are ideas that don't have a process so i'll support either actual. >> to me the vehicle of working with the supervisors seems to be the most efficient and obviously the agenda what about we have something to talk about and bring that up and there are thoughts and if we approve of what is done rosemary
4:15 am
at the end of the day will you be sitting in. >> yeah. i would be the press release is talking about starting with a moratorium and then from there developing a broad coalition of members some of the enforcement aspects musical grooming is mentioned in the press release not something that dbi can enforce it is with the code enforcement with the city attorney's office so a broader pictue from the code enforcement and the criteria to convert so with respect that will be an avenue to have this input from a staff stand point we would like to have the input whatever form as we go through the process
4:16 am
analyzing the code will be following along with the discussion because i'm sure that had been broad and numerous and complicated and so from that and lengthy because it has not been done in a period of time from that stand point that had been useful we can submit into the specifies office letting them know we're happy to do that as we get correspondence and inviting us we'll pass that on and make sure that includes the members of the commission that are engaged. >> okay if commissioner walker. >> yeah. i actually would like to be included in that conversation okay. >> on behalf of the tenants. >> at that stage we have 2
4:17 am
commissioners or 3 or one. >> 3. >> so commissioner gilman no, no, no. >> seriously. >> but that way if all of us can't go. >> as a representative i think that is appropriate. >> yeah. but if one of us can't go. >> yeah. yeah - >> so another this stage 3 commissioners commissioner gilman and commissioner melgar and commissioner walker who will be 10 telegraph hill on the list and at least one will be there to keep everybody abreast and i'll add that meantime in the agendized to get an update not a problem we can do that and i think that is the best vehicle to be honest as long as dbi are included with the supervisors office in this decision making will be great. >> the press release included
4:18 am
it came back to dbi before the report went out. >> it was introduced. >> - >> voted next month. >> it has to go to committee. >> no, no. >> commissioners based on the conversation i had yesterday with the supervisors office they're now beginning to put this together they said they'll welcome the opportunity for our participation and we indicated we'll get back to them after the meeting he let the supervisor know we're talking about this item today and invited him or his aid to come they said they're not sure they'll make it but interested in going forward. >> the press release states clearly their working closely with the city attorney's office and with dbi on whatever types
4:19 am
of amendments may come forward and talked about the extent okay. >> all right. i think that is a good outcome. >> sorry commissioner. >> do we know if a moratorium goes into effect. >> it doesn't. >> i'll say. >> we have applications before us. >> the press release didn't mention a moratorium i understand there are conversation about that my reading of the release is not specifically say this is a moratorium yet that maybe his intent i don't know. >> we need to clarify that we're not talking about legislation that is introduced recommended a moratorium. >> it was announced his intent to look at the situation and my reading the press release not saying i'm introducing a moratorium didn't say that. >> that is important to know that i didn't see the press
4:20 am
release so that's makes that different. >> okay. >> so why not in theory we've got the right approach maybe clarification what exactly supervisor peskin office is going to be doing in dealing with meeting and putting new policies in place with regards to chapter four 1; right? i think that is >> it looks like a press release not introducing anything. >> okay. >> so. >> please. that changes a lot. >> here. >> we got two of them.
4:21 am
>> yeah. >> okay. so i'm reading this on the fly right now we have a conversation with the city attorney's office and in regards to - so why not do this i think it doesn't change how we should approach this but get a report bill from the supervisors office and let us know through legislation or going to do have meetings and basically what their vehicle is updating chapter four 1 and bring it back to the next big meeting we'll be more clear about our approach and let them know we're president to be in that
4:22 am
discussion. >> okay. that's not going to be an action item only informational for right now. >> any public comment on item 8. >> okay. seeing none item 9 director's report. >> 9 a update on dbis finances. >> good morning, commissioners madison for the department of building inspection before you the march 2016 financial report and it includes revenue and expenditures for the first 9 months of fiscal year and so i'll go over a couple of highlights on the revenue side
4:23 am
after a slow start in january because they dropped off revenues are continuing to be strong and year to date we've collected 64 million dollars or $3 million more than our total year budget we're doing well and primarily due to 3 revenues and those revenues are based on evaluation building permits, plan review and premium plan check in our packets a there's a report that has a lot of different numbers for revenues as you can see for instance, right behind the summary the building permits is the ferns year to date collected almost $12 million and the number is 641601 plan checking year to date we've collected $29 million
4:24 am
and then premium is collecting $3 million those are the 3 that drive our revenues on the expenditure side we'll continue to spend we have if we look at the summary on page two of the memo we're down only because last year, we had a lot of money if you take the projects we're $2 million more than the same things so we are we expect expenditures we do a lot of m i s and sorts of things so expect those expenditures to pick up so i'll be happy to answer any questions you may have. >> seeing none, ms. harris thank you. >> an update on the budgets the proposed budget i mentioned we'll be presenting our budget along with 12 other departments may first, the board the mayor
4:25 am
presents the budget to the board and may 25th i'll keep you abreast once we get to the mayor thank you. >> thank you. >> item 9 b updated on proposed or recently state and local legislation. >> commissioners bill stronger legislative affairs we mentioned the avalos legislation is now law took effect on april the 11 our technical service group is putting together with planning on it because the ordinance has a number of complicated steps but the bottom line is that dbi residences the jurisdiction on life safety matters that's the reason we'll not be able to
4:26 am
legalize a unit absences you'll be in the conditional use hearing pool and you'll have to go through the hearing at planning in order to i guess essentially to come up with a rational why you should be able to merge or demolish a unit the overall expectations we won't see a lot of these because the processes are flexible but we are prep the necessary guidelines to help our staff and also customers as at the inquiry about those and the other ordinance that passed will be taking effect as i said the last week of may beginning of june is the code enforcement standardization process essentially where this fire department and public health department are going to set up similar steps to the code enforcement process that we currently use
4:27 am
such as having the notice of violations and they're required to provide quarterly reports to the board that had say how many directors hearings we'll had and order of abatement and whether those have been recorded or cleared up we're in the process of getting all of that into uniformity and that includes standardizing the forms this form we used by going to the zoning administrator's office so all the departments fire, public health department, building, are using similar types of code enforcement types of forms. >> another ordinance that passes will be taking effect about the same period of time is commissioner sanchez supervisor
4:28 am
tang treatment our technical services - we're setting up procedures to have people make their front entrance for assessable or present the covets business services that people should be able to get assess under the law. >> and with that, i think that basically covers if you have any questions. >> seeing none, thank you item 9-c update on major promotions. >> good morning commissioner president mccarthy tom how are your director department of
4:29 am
building inspection we expect but i talked with planning a permit is job from their side a little bit by 40 or 60 percent costs people maybe waiting for the ordinance for the affordable housing for 35 opposed hopefully you know we need to closely watch it right now our number of projects still growing for this month any questions. >> yeah. two questions you said the planning did you clarification their seeing a drop in their applications. >> for example the environmental impact report usually every month it i talked with the director director rahaim he mentioned four or five
4:30 am
the number he said is a a substantial job maybe the developer hold on to see what is happening but needed to, you know, think about everything. >> so, i mean that gives them an opportunity to see the backdrops; right? >> (laughter.) . >> yeah, i'm kind of lvns did they give you a percentage how much has dropped. >> to 60 percent. >> that's big because environmental can be the most timely part of the equation. >> i hope i'm not taking our thunderstorm commissioner walker talks about that in planning and time and things sitting there and so on a part of our approach to how we
4:31 am
look at how busy we'll be obviously will be planning as well i mean that is important that we be given reports saying their system it down looking at a hiring increase or decrease it is the way we can get that from them or something they can forwarded to you and make that part of our presentation it is slowing down or a number of percentages. >> it is difficult to get the number as there is a different growth and while a takes a few years and then the permanent application needs to be reported he everything through our system and get to planning and also as i mentioned trying to streamline a process not reviewing the small projects for and then the
4:32 am
amounted to gastric or go back to the old way. >> it is successful i hear. >> commissioner walker. >> i think those numbers are helpful in longer ranked planning for us and hopefully as we get our permit tracking system in that information will come in from planning sooner about overseeing types of things and have it without really - but my question i mean it is posed because of the legislation deduction about increasing affordability requirements but is it or more about the market? i mean because - i mean do they know for sure people are concerned about the affordability levels >> i think that is a combination of a lot of factors first of all, the market is supply and demand and also those
4:33 am
are closer have impacts we can't plan everything but. >> - >> want your update as something that happening for our department will be easy for the next 10 years yeah. >> soft story and facade. >> legalization. >> legalization i need to push that one to the public to encourage them to do it those are not the major revenue to get those only help out. >> when you say major part of how big. >> generally they talking about you know maybe anything 50 units or stuff like that but not a definite. >> the department had meetings every friday we talked about this that's what i wanted to give the information that is
4:34 am
official. >> good job. >> yeah. and director as i look at you can those are permits; right? they're filled; right? so we're pretty much sure those will get built >> not 100 percent because remember the last downturn all the permits the developers say oh, they don't make money on mission street they ordered they have excavation they deal with the market because of profit. >> yeah. but i think my point i'm trying to make as you see those projects in the district they're in do we in advance prepare for the volume of work that will happen if that district with regards to the
4:35 am
builder inspectors. >> yeah. my concern on district with only we have to the wider district or inspector area to help a pause certain areas you need more inspectors to help out. >> like jamestown is on there it will be huge that whole area hunters point read that in the paper so you'll hear me discussing this in the future preparation for the areas and the volume that will be increased and the inspectors that are in that area how they're qualified and good enough to deal with that kind of volume and the inspectors you know what is the - i think it very important for the service. >> definitely we look at who
4:36 am
is most qualified besides we have you know we talked with our director also to make sure you know we need to have the staff to help out you know, i get the help from all the commissioners last time and the memo four years ago they say okay. it is coming that's why we feet e need to be aggressive for the plan check and inspections we're trying to also have an interview at the beginning of next month to get the inspectors to come in a lot of sickness and medical leave that's why we need to gear for make sure we have all entering staff there. >> i see those are a great tool to see what is in the particular district rather than
4:37 am
reacting i think we should be looking at that strategize how we approach it i'm not sure i'm sure we have in the past this is a great tool. >> okay. thank you. >> item 9 d update on code enforcement. >> good morning, commissioners dan deputy director for special services here to repeat on the dbi monthly update for the month of march for the inspectors performed 5 thousand plus that was higher than april 15th of the pregraft in the back if you look at the back graft complaint response within twenty-four hours to 48 hours for the first notice of violation were 48 complaints in the without ethics commission
4:38 am
were one hundred and 33 and second notice of violation referred to code enforcement was 4 housing inspections performed for the month of march was one thousand praus plus that's been the highest complained received 4 hundred and 10 complaints responds within twenty-four hours to 48 hours, 4 hundred and 6 complaints of violation were one hundred plus and number of cases to the directors hearing 37 and routine inspectors one hundred plus and 86 - number of order of abatements number of cases under advisement 18, and code enforcement inspectors one hundred and 59. >> thank you
4:39 am
awhile isle i've got you deputy director inspections that is the timeframe it is a little bit off your housing what's your timeframe if you call in for an inspection turn around in a particular districts i'm hearing. >> 3 district, district 10, 17, and district one we watched those but some district are backed up almost a week we have the builder inspector to do the inspections 20 to a day we've had the inspectors call ahead to help the district inspectors we're looking at the slower district and blocking out the district and 2k0ub8 up for example, noah valley is backed up we're trying to assist that area and putting two or three
4:40 am
inspectors. >> it there a reason for that it was always busy in noah valley no other volumes of inspections. >> it is very busy in the last two years and hunters point is there will be ramping up a lot out there. >> but 3 months ago you didn't have to wait 2 weeks for inspectors in noah valley what's changed. >> 3 inspectors what changed we have long term medical leave for inspectors between the two of them it is five story inspectors but five story inspectors down ear trying to double up on the inspections we know the areas and trying to call ahead we'll look at a schedule and if there is you know we have a senior call
4:41 am
forward to assist. >> so has there been a change for example, has noah valley always been busy within an inspection and the rottion coming in and this problem appears. >> right now we have a senior inspection we have two seniors going to the inspectors test one downtown inspections 2 and that backed up the inspector in the district to catch on the inspectors. >> i'm trying to talk about the point of rot shuns a shadowing or comes in up to speed and qualified to take those volumes of inspections are we're going to look at that you know we really.
4:42 am
>> you know what is the mechanisms that is in place that says you have to rotate that's part of game but when you rotate what is the mechanism in place when the inspectors are changed to show they're up to studying speed would all of a sudden an efficient area turned again a problem area overnight. >> when we look at the rotation we make sure the inspectors are qualified for that area our inspections are qualified and certified you know a lot of inspections they look at high-rise construction so when we had a rotation we make sure that you know some of them previous residential and some commercial they go to that
4:43 am
district. >> yeah. >> so inspections are we kind of for example, if someone knows about communication a sheetrock inspection offer at inspectors that is more do we make decisions when we get into situations. >> as part of code that is required but we see an installation inspection there is a call ahead give us a certificate for smaugs we try to know open up those slots for a bigger inspectors for a inspector you know. >> yeah. yeah. >> as far as concrete that would be on concrete we know how hard to pour concrete property lines but everyone needs the concrete inspection even though the inspection is backed up we make that to a public advisory
4:44 am
meeting when a concrete inspection we doing everything we can to send an inspector that the district is not backed up or whatever. >> are we down inspectors. >> we're down because we have 3 inspectors that are going to be retiring and 3 that are long term medical leave it is tough we have 6 down and regular inspectors that take sick pay or vacation it puts a strain on things do the best we can to get help when we get backed up on inspections a lot of time we'll call code enforcement to help out we like i said were blocked out of a busy district. >> we looked at that. >> yeah. yeah. okay. >> sorry commissioner walker. >> to your concerns commissioner, i know the commission has talked about that
4:45 am
a lot about making sure we're staffed into the future correctly and especially we know weigh deal with hopefully a lot of soft story work and left-hand side that has a need for inspections that don't linger that the request didn't linger so i hope that our lists are current we can hire and if we need to have for staffing we should talk about that because i think that i agree commissioner mccarthy that our priority has been in working with effective delivery of service and if not because of lack of staffing we do a little bit better planning for the future i guess that people are sick and that people are going to be retiring but
4:46 am
hopefully, we'll, be prepared to remedy things quickly with current fresh lists. >> we current have fresh lists and have been working with the h.r. to get people in the hire as long as we've been working with h.r. they're aware and working with us. >> great commissioner walker to answer our question i foresee first of all, talking about retirees night life they step out of our department we can't fill that position their time off i can't stop it until they retire but also like i said. >> can you higher temporary positions. >> i'm not. >> okay. >> right now i totally the beginning of may we'll have a process to you know hire a few
4:47 am
more inspectors whatever position i can get from the get the referral interested they have staff you you know leaving out of our department but finally get the lease and trying to push it beginning of may to an interview and then after the people retire then i can get overseeing positions and get the civil service position and more staff is more complicated we competing with the outside and other jurisdictions everybody is trying to look for plan checker or inspectors also, we have expense a few people with medical leave i don't know the detail but and they're on leave you can't fill overseeing positions and you can hire an inspectors
4:48 am
one or two months i want permanent and train them and to be a entering inspector that's what we're trying to do - also some of them specialize we're not doing rotation until we hire for people and we only backfill some of the positions because their - you know the inspector special in district one is most knowingable you can't through someone in there that's a person qualified to do that and have seniors and other inspections inspectors to help we have a lot of plans to deal with that. >> yeah. i think most of the
4:49 am
commissioners when we were rebuilding the biggest frustrations was the slow process in which it takes to get someone to glow the system so we learned a lot director and i think let's not that be the reason our making excuses i don't want to blame h.r. we know that will take temple months or whatever let's build around that that's the way it is one of the departments let's get it down in three or four months i'm not sure but that is that was the timeframe about 10 months wasn't it. >> no a lot faster.
4:50 am
>> right now for this year we are in hiring 16 more employees and the year before 40 or 60. >> how long. >> every year. >> and to the least when you have the least the provisions to be ready for us. >> so four or five months. >> that's get our heads around i'm hearing 10 months to get someone. >> not true. >> i'd like to know if it is four or five months to my point we should be on top of and if wear i hear our frustration people are out sick i get is that but the retirement part is something that i know evaluates in our budget x amount leaving and we have that position filled
4:51 am
i'm making sure we're keeping an eye on the ball and the major concern they're filling the district are up to the task of that transition and moves quickly and it should be as the previous years you know. >> we do have an active list it is big we've got to glow h.r. we have an active list - we have a h.r. list they're working on a hiring list to fill those positions by the director said we can't fill the positions until they're retired. >> we know that is coming up and 2 months one will be
4:52 am
retiring but we can't hire until they retire to fill that position. >> okay appreciate that. >> public comment on director's report a through d. >> okay. seeing none item 10 destruction on the project system. >> good morning director duffy i'm henry from the department of the environment ma dpel was called to the east coast to represent the technology so he's in transit the garden team is processing on schedule with the ivory work this is the longtime phases that is the interviews
4:53 am
and document reviews and digging into the what the configured in the platform in comparing that against the dbi requirement we're in the last week of the assessment phase so that is coming to a close the next phase is their recommendations phase that start last week so we're over lapsing for a week with that activity and we're expecting a preliminary review with d t in the middle of may so we're tracking the schedule on the activities and then at that point we should be able to then nail down what is the thing we need to platoon to bring the finding to this commission whether i don't know if that will line up with the commission meeting or we need to present it sooner that but we'll, work on
4:54 am
that in terms of the schedule. >> commissioner walker. >> so the interviews have been happening i know i've been interviewed i think a lot of people people that have been talking about our next meeting - i feel this is an important enough issue if there is a report to be presented we've had our meeting we have a special meeting specifically i don't don't you keep the president posted and we'll have a meeting we want to commend see 2 in front of us sooner - >> yeah. i'm some support of that as well. >> commissioner. >> you don't i have a clarifying questions are we waiting for those finding before we do a data launch.
4:55 am
>> yes. >> right now the work on doing any more configurations on the platform that was suspend at the beginning of october labor we've not been expending resources or money on developing the platform until we finish the assessments. >> do we have a direct timeline of when we'll build up the platform with users. >> yeah. that timeline for the scope and development work is actually launched the platform is one of the things that comes out of the road map for rover the project and getting back on track. >> others departments are urging the platform and dwp. >> planning has launched so
4:56 am
t management the port of san francisco before i think dbi or planning get started they've implemented a very - i've not seen it i think that is a less much less details and complicated implementation for the management they're using and for dpw i don't know the name the product but a product from a company at excel a it is another product i'm not sure of the name. >> commissioner walker. >> just to clarify the project was stopped because the list of requirements had to be agreed on it keep on changing like a
4:57 am
moving target we decided to stop all this assessment of where we are at and what is happening including a timeline sort of the recommendations of how to get back to our original process here and planning has gotten online with their data didn't include an attachment to ours it is really sort of their test case with all their requirements and in process we decide at one point to go live and workout the kings we've not gone live with all the rest of the data that is on our end so we're hoping to capture and blend to the issue of the other departments using a similar or compatible program will it make
4:58 am
it definitely with planning they'll be sharing the same database so far as the port not that i'm aware of any and dpw i've heard other departments that do issue permits of their own not for for construction they have an interest when dbi does with excel at rest of the city can use that with no licensing fee but talked about this 6 months ago people are waiting in the wings. >> commissioner walker we paused not stop we paused. >> i forgot which term.
4:59 am
>> paused. >> okay. thank you henry appreciate it thank you very much. >> any public comment on item 10. >> seeing none, item 11 approval of the minutes of the special meeting of september 2015. >> is there a motion? >> move to approve. >> second. >> all commissioners in favor any public comment on the minutes seeing none, they're approved item 12 commissioners questions or comments. >> so at this stage open to commissioners, any questions or issues to bring up at future meetings policies procedures practices anything mar
5:00 am
practices. >> if any call me before the meeting any future meetings or adjourned observing will on may 18th. >> commissioner walker. >> i'll be out of the country in july i think that the litigation committee meets that most so we could adjust for summer somehow. >> okay. >> we'll talk about that thank you. >> in july yeah. >> july. >> okay. any any public comment on this item? item 12 ab item 13 a motion to adjourn. >> so moved. >> i want to is there a second. >> this is the quick itself. >> in favor to be adjourned
5:01 am
what time. >> 11 o'clock thank you. >> thank
5:02 am
5:03 am
5:04 am
5:05 am
5:06 am
5:07 am
5:08 am
5:09 am
5:10 am
5:11 am
5:12 am
5:13 am
5:14 am
5:15 am
5:16 am
5:17 am
5:18 am
5:19 am
5:20 am
5:21 am
5:22 am
5:23 am
5:24 am
5:25 am
5:26 am
5:27 am
5:28 am
5:29 am
5:30 am
5:31 am
5:32 am
5:33 am
5:34 am
5:35 am
5:36 am
5:37 am
5:38 am
>> hi. welcome to san francisco. stay safe and exploring how you can stay in
5:39 am
your home safely after an earthquake. let's look at common earthquake myths. >> we are here at the urban center on mission street in san francisco. we have 3 guest today. we have david constructional engineer and bill harvey. i want to talk about urban myths. what do you think about earthquakes, can you tell if they are coming in advance? >> he's sleeping during those earthquakes? >> have you noticed him take any special? >> no. he sleeps right through them. there is no truth that i'm aware of with harvey that dogs are aware of an impending earthquake. >> you hear the myth all the time. suppose the dog helps you
5:40 am
get up, is it going to help you do something >> i hear they are aware of small vibrations. but yes, i read extensively that dogs cannot realize earthquakes. >> today is a spectacular day in san francisco and sometimes people would say this is earthquake weather. is this earthquake weather? >> no. not that i have heard of. no such thing. >> there is no such thing. >> we are talking about the weather in a daily or weekly cycle. there is no relationship. i have heard it's hot or cold weather or rain. i'm not sure which is the myth. >> how about time of day? >> yes. it happens when it's
5:41 am
least convenient. when it happens people say we were lucky and when they don't. it's terrible timing. it's never a good time for an earthquake. >> but we are going to have one. >> how about the ground swallowing people into the ground? >> like the earth that collapsed? it's not like the tv shows. >> the earth does move and it bumps up and you get a ground fracture but it's not something that opens up and sucks you up into haddes.
5:42 am
>> it's not going anywhere. we are going to have a lot of damage, but this myth that california is going to the ocean is not real. >> southern california is moving north. it's coming up from the south to the north. >> you would have to invest the million year cycle, not weeks or years. maybe millions of years from now, part of los angeles will be in the bay area. >> for better or worse. >> yes. >> this is a tough question. >> those other ones weren't tough. >> this is a really easy challenge. are the smaller ones less stress? >> yes. the amount released in small earthquakes is that they are so small in you need many
5:43 am
of those. >> i think would you probably have to have maybe hundreds of magnitude earthquakes of 4.7. >> so small earthquakes are not making our lives better in the future? >> not anyway that you can count on. >> i have heard that buildings in san francisco are on rollers and isolated? >> it's not true. it's a conventional foundation like almost all the circumstances buildings in san francisco. >> the trans-america was built way before. it's a pretty conventional foundation design. >> i have heard about this thing called the triangle of life and up you are supposed to go to the edge of your bed to
5:44 am
save yourself. is there anything of value to that ? >> yes, if you are in your room. you should drop, cover and hold onto something. if you are in school, same thing, kitchen same thing. if you happen to be in your bed, and you rollover your bed, it's not a bad place to be. >> the reality is when we have a major earthquake the ground shaking so pronounced that you are not going to be able to get up and go anywhere. you are pretty much staying where you are when that earthquake hits. you are not going to be able to stand up and run with gravity. >> you want to get under the door frame but you are not moving to great distances. >> where can i buy a richter scale? >> mr. richter is selling it.
5:45 am
we are going to put a plug in for cold hardware. they are not available. it's a rather complex. >> in fact we don't even use the richter scale anymore. we use a moment magnitude. the richter scale was early technology. >> probably a myth that i hear most often is my building is just fine in the loma prieta earthquake so everything is fine. is that true ? >> loma prieta was different. the ground acceleration here was quite moderate and the duration was moderate. so anyone that believes they survived a big earthquake and their building has been tested is sadly mistaken. >> we are planning for the bigger earthquake closer to san
5:46 am
francisco and a fault totally independent. >> much stronger than the loma prieta earthquake. >> so people who were here in '89 they should say 3 times as strong and twice as long and that will give them more of an occasion of the earthquake we would have. 10 percent isn't really the threshold of damage. when you triple it you cross that line. it's much more damage in earthquake. >> i want to thank you, harvey, thanks pat for as a society we've basically failed big portion of our
5:47 am
population if you think about the basics of food, shelter safety a lot of people don't have any of those i'm mr. cookie can't speak for all the things but i know say, i have ideas how we can address the food issue. >> open the door and walk through that don't just stand looking out. >> as they grew up in in a how would that had access to good food and our parent cooked this is how you feed yours this is not happening in our country this is a huge pleasure i'm david one of the co-founder so about four year ago we worked with the serviced and got to know the kid one of the things
5:48 am
we figured out was that they didn't know how to cook. >> i heard about the cooking school through the larkin academy a. >> their noting no way to feed themselves so they're eating a lot of fast food and i usually eat whatever safeway is near my home a lot of hot food i was excited that i was eating lunch enough instead of what and eat. >> as i was inviting them over teaching them basic ways to fix good food they were so existed. >> particle learning the skills and the food they were really go it it turned into the is charity foundation i ran into my friend we were talking about this this do you want to run this charity
5:49 am
foundations and she said, yes. >> i'm a co-found and executive director for the cooking project our best classes participation for 10 students are monday they're really fun their chief driven classes we have a different guest around the city they're our stand alone cola's we had a series or series still city of attorney's office style of classes our final are night life diners. >> santa barbara shall comes in and helps us show us things and this is one the owners they help us to socialize and i've been here about a year. >> we want to be sure to serve as many as we can.
5:50 am
>> the san francisco cooking school is an amazing amazing partner. >> it is doing that in that space really elevates the space for the kids special for the chief that make it easy for them to come and it really makes the experience pretty special. >> i'm sutro sue set i'm a chief 2, 3, 4 san francisco. >> that's what those classes afford me the opportunity it breakdown the barriers and is this is not scary this is our choice about you many times this is a feel good what it is that you give them is an opportunity you have to make it seem like it's there for them for the taking show them it is their and they can do that. >> hi, i'm antonio the chief in san francisco. >> the majority of kids at that
5:51 am
age in order to get them into food they need to see something simple and the evidence will show and easy to produce i want to make sure that people can do it with a bowl and spoon and burner and one pan. >> i like is the receipts that are simple and not feel like it's a burden to make foods the cohesives show something eased. >> i go for vera toilet so someone can't do it or its way out of their range we only use 6 ingredients i can afford 6 ingredient what good is showing you them something they can't use but the sovereignties what are you going
5:52 am
to do more me you're not successful. >> we made a vegetable stir-fry indicators he'd ginger and onion that is really affordable how to balance it was easy to make the food we present i loved it if i having had access to a kitchen i'd cook more. >> some of us have never had a kitchen not taught how to cookie wasn't taught how to cook. >> i have a great appreciation for programs that teach kids food and cooking it is one of the healthiest positive things you can communicate to people that are very young. >> the more programs like the cooking project in general that
5:53 am
can have a positive impact how our kids eat is really, really important i believe that everybody should venting to utilize the kitchen and meet other kids their age to identify they're not alone and their ways in which to pick yours up and move forward that. >> it is really important to me the opportunity exists and so i do everything in my power to keep it that. >> we'll have our new headquarters in the heart of the tenderloin at taylor and kushlg at the end of this summer 2014 we're really excited. >> a lot of the of the conditions in san francisco they have in the rest of the country so our goal to 257bd or expand out of the san francisco in los
5:54 am
angeles and then after that who know. >> we'd never want to tell people want to do or eat only provide the skills and the tools in case that's something people are 2rrd in doing. >> you can't buy a box of psyche you have to put them in the right vein and direction with the right kids with a right place address time those kids don't have this you have to instill they can do it they're good enough now to finding out figure out and find the future for . >> working for the city and county of san francisco will immerse you in a vibrate and dynamic city on sfroert of the art and social change we've been
5:55 am
on the edge after all we're at the meeting of land and sea world-class style it is the burn of blew jeans where the rock holds court over the harbor the city's information technology xoflz work on the rulers project for free wifi and developing projects and insuring patient state of at san francisco general hospital our it professionals make guilty or innocent available and support the house/senate regional wear-out system your our employees joy excessive salaries but working for the city and county of san francisco give us employees the unities to contribute their ideas and energy and commitment to shape
5:56 am
the city's future but for considering a career with the city and county of san francisco
5:57 am
5:58 am
5:59 am
>> good afternoon and we'll call our meeting to order and the commissioner clerk will call the roll. >> clerk: rrk "roll call."
6:00 am
i put the minutes in front of you. commissioner chow requested a make a slight change on the top 6 page seven. i'll see text crossed out and other text that has been alded. >> commissioners, the revised or edited minutes are before us. for acceptance. so we need a motion. >> okay. >> i think this is minor and i can give it to you but -- >> go ahead. >> so on page 5, 5 of the ones that were in our packet. >> sure. >> up i